Let His Servants Suffer

To the lot of few does it fall to pass through such horror of great darkness as that which fell upon me after the deplorable accident at Surrey Music Hall. I was pressed beyond measure and out of bounds with an enormous weight of misery. The tumult, the panic, the deaths, were day and night before me, and made life a burden. Then I sang in my sorrow –

“The tumult of my thoughts Doth but increase my woe, My spirit languisheth, my heart Is desolate and low.”

From that dream of horror I was awakened in a moment by the gracious application to my soul of the text, “Him hath God the Father exalted.” The fact that Jesus is still great, let his servants suffer as they may, piloted me back to the calm reason and peace. Should so terrible a calamity overtake any of my brethren, let them both patiently hope and quietly wait for the salvation of God.

– Charles Spurgeon, Lectures to My Students

, , ,

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

