We Cannot Slip Through

The great Scottish preacher Ebenezer Erskine (1680–1754) once visited a woman on her deathbed and lovingly tested her readiness for heaven. When she assured him that she was ready to depart to be with Christ because she was in that hand from which no one could pluck her, Erskine asked, “But are you not afraid that you will slip through His fingers in the end?”

“That is impossible because of what you have always told us,” she said.

“And what is that?” he asked.

“That we are united to Him, and so we are part of His body. I cannot slip through His fingers because I am one of His fingers. Besides, Christ has paid too high of a price for my redemption to leave me in Satan’s hand. If I were to be lost, He would lose more than I; I would lose my salvation, but He would lose His glory, because one of His sheep would be lost.”

– Excerpt from Living for God’s Glory

, , ,

  1. #1 by rb on November 28, 2008 - 12:00 pm

    I love your blog! Thank you for posting this. I have copied it (with attribution)to my blog.

  2. #2 by John Thorsson on December 2, 2008 - 10:30 am

    Hey Viz…its John Thorsson, who used to go to Northland. Whats up man? I hope that all is well with you. So…..I was looking on xanga last night and saw something about all Muslims not being terrorists, and so I went into how if a Muslim is true to the Koran they need to be militant agaisnt the West and Christianity. Im getting a lot of flak from it from this one guy. Its just amazing how everyone who disagreed with that statement had facts and everyone who thought they weren’t militant were all based on feelings.

Leave a Reply

