Killing Mammon

Last night I watched Tim Keller’s message from The Gospel Coalition for the fifth time, including the actual conference. My wife thought it would be a good addendum to the small group she’s leading for CJ Mahaney’s Worldliness. In the sermon, Pastor Keller points out how money is a god throughout the world and especially in America… and even more so in his hometown of New York. This isn’t news to anyone. But what is news is when we find the same lusts hiding in our hearts.

Shortly after watching the sermon, we received a massive outstanding medical bill. To add some small insult to injury, I had spent $30 the same day on a piece of software that I found out was bug-ridden as all get out, and I couldn’t return it. As these two circumstances came to light, so did the filth in my heart. Immediately I began to think of the bank account, and how little would be left after paying the bill. Or if the bill was legit, and whether or not we’d actually have to pay it. And then I was reminded of the sermon, and the truth that Jesus spoke of in Luke 12. To be wrapped up in this world is to waste your life; to be enthralled and engaged in the next world is the only thing worth living for. Ever.

As I was reminded, my soul was settled. Christ is the source, sustainer, and purpose of all things. As such, He is worthy to receive my whole being in spiritual worship… and to worry about money is to subtly declare my dependance on other things. He will never be worthy of my distrust.

, , , , , , ,

  1. #1 by zdenny on July 6, 2009 - 8:26 pm

    Your right on target with this!! Keep it up. Trust Jesus to take care of you

    Please send me a friend request on FACEBOOK so that I can get your new post on my page. Just post a link to your facebook so I will see the updates after we are friends. You will get a lot more visits to your post too…Thanks

    http://www.facebook.com/zdennyfamily

  2. #2 by Steve240 on July 9, 2009 - 5:13 pm

    You might find the following blogs of interest about C.J. Mahaney and the group he leads:

    http://www.sgmsurvivors.com
    http://www.sgmrefuge.com

    They tell another side.

    Hope this helps.

Leave a Reply

