Preaching to Myself (1)

My commute each morning totals five minutes up Ohio 741. After that, I sit for 8 1/2 hours, performing regular accounting tasks, dispatching HVAC technicians over the phone, and handling tax questions regarding the federal government’s energy rebates. The bookends to my day include reading Scripture at the beginning and prayer at the end, but another set of bookends helps to set the pace for the day: music on the way to and from work.

So as I turn on the car in the morning, Jon Foreman is playing House of God, Forever:

God is my shepherd
I won’t be wanting
I won’t be wanting
He makes me rest
In fields of green
With quite streams

Even though I walk
Through the valley
Of death and dying
I will not fear
‘Cause you are with me
You are with me

Your shepherd’s staff
Comforts me
You are my feast
In the presence of enemies
Surely goodness
Follow me
Follow me
In the house of God, forever

God is my shepherd
I won’t be wanting
I won’t be wanting
He makes me rest
In fields of green
Like quiet streams
Even while I’m walking
Through the valley
Of death and dying
I will not fear
‘Cause you are with me
You’re always with me

Your shepherd’s staff
Comforts me
You are my feast
In the presence of enemies
Surely goodness
Follow me
Follow me
In the house of God, forever
In the house of God, forever
In the house of God, forever

The words become mine as I sing alone in the car. He is my feast. He is my portion. The words remind me of the Scripture I’ve read that morning. He makes me rest. In Christ. Both when my eyes comprehend Him by faith and someday when I finally comprehend Him with my eyes. I will not fear. Perfect me in love today, Lord. As You do that, push out the fear. It’s what I need everyday. Love. For my co-workers. For my wife. For the unlovely. For my enemies.

This is how I preach to myself.

, , ,

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

