Preaching to Myself (2)

Sitting. All day. Occasionally getting up to move, do warranty work in the warehouse, maybe getting lunch. Otherwise, answering phones, typing up paperwork, sending mail. Once I’m off work, I begin to unwind. In the car. Back down Ohio 741. The traffic is hectic, but there are shortcuts to get home.

As I’m in the car, the CD clicks in. I switch to track 9. John Waller’s “Dead Man Walking” begins…

I am a dead man sure as I’m living
I am a dead man though I am breathing
I’m dead and gone, this is my song
I’m a dead man walking

Singing I am crucified with Christ
No longer I live, now the life in me is only in Him
I am seated with Christ, I’m not coming back
All my life I’ve never been so alive
I am crucified, I’m crucified

Now every day my reason for living
Is now in dying, my life surrendered
I’m dead and gone, this is my song
I’m a dead man walking

Singing I am crucified with Christ
No longer I live, now the life in me is only in Him
Now I am seated with Christ, I’m not coming back
And all my life I’ve never been so alive
I am crucified

If we try to save our lives we will lose them, we will lose them
If we lay them down and die we will find them
By grace through faith in Christ alone
Come and sing the dead man’s song

No longer I live, now the life in me is only in Him
Now I’m seated with Christ, I’m not coming back
All my life I’ve never been so alive
I am crucified, I am crucified, I am crucified

I’m a dead man walking
I am crucified, I am crucified, I am crucified
I’m a dead man singing

Psalm 23 in the morning. God’s love for me. My death… and life… with Christ in the afternoon. God’s love for me. This is how I preach to myself.

, , , ,

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

