Remember (2)

Today, October 15th, marks the fifth anniversary of Tim Trometer’s death. Tim was my college roommate during the first part of my freshman year. If one quality could describe Tim, it surely would be His love for Christ… and his fun-loving, goofy personality cannot be easily forgotten. In the few months that I knew Tim, we became fast friends. God was good to place me in that room, and good to take Tim in the way He did.

Sovereignty was on the front end of Tim’s death in a discussion in our room about death and contentedness the Tuesday before he died, and on the back end in the eulogy that Tim’s father gave. He exalted our sovereign, massive God in all His ways. I’ve never looked at God the same since that week.

For five years now Tim has beheld His face… a sweet reminder in the midst of all this.

God ordains in the lives of his messengers that suffering severs our bondage to the world. When joy and love survive this severing, we are fit to say to the nations with authenticity and power: Hope in God.

– John Piper

This is the legacy that Trommy left, the legacy that Jesus Christ left, and the legacy we’re called to leave: hope in God. Let this be cemented anew within me amid all the memories. May the sorrow we feel in retrospect be overcome with great joy as we grow by grace in faith towards our great God.

Related blogs, hereherehere, and here.

,

  1. #1 by Andrew K. on October 15, 2010 - 12:38 am

    “What solemn tidings reach our ears!
    How awful, how grand!
    A brother landed safe from fears,
    On Canaan’s happy land.

    No clouds shall now obstruct his sun,
    But all be life and peace;
    With him, ’tis ever, ever noon,
    Nor can his joy decrease.

    He’s gone in endless bliss to dwell,
    And I am left below,
    To struggle with the powers of hell,
    Till Jesus bids me go.

    Though he’s more happy I’m secure.
    God’s promise cannot fail;
    O may I patiently endure,
    My heavenly Father’s will.

    The counsel of the Lord shall stand,
    And all his will be done;
    I’ll therefore wait in Meshech’s land,
    Until he fetch me home.

    He’s gone …
    There the weary be at rest.”

    By William Gadsby

    Thanks for posting, Viz. Recently I’ve been listening to Red Mountain Church music, and every time I hear this song, I think of Tim.

  2. #2 by Carla on October 15, 2010 - 9:02 am

    I remember with you today. Praying for you, son.

  3. #3 by Heather M on October 17, 2010 - 9:19 pm

    Thanks for posting this, Viz. Matt and I were just talking about Trom and about how focused he was on getting to see Christ. How amazing for him that he’s gotten to for 5 years now. We still miss him, though.

Leave a Reply

